Institute for Safety and Health Management provides accredited certifications for Safety and Health Managers and Practitioners. It is the only HSE certification provider that focuses on the entire safety management process. It recognizes safety professionals for the education and experience they have gained and is widely accepted by Occupational Health and Safety Departments in General Industry, Construction, Oil and Gas, Utilities, Healthcare and Emergency Management markets. Before beginning your application process, review the Requirements for each designation.


New Applicants: ASHM

There is no exam requirement for the ASHM. Review the requirements for more information.

New Applicants: CSMP and CSHM

CSMP and CSHM certifications are accredited by CESB. The CSMP program recognizes people who have attained knowledge of HSE management skills through training and on-the-job experience. Eighty percent of the CSMP exam comes directly from the “Supervisor’s Safety Manual 10th Edition,” published by the National Safety Council. CSMP requires 60% passing score.

CSHM tests technical knowledge of occupational safety and health plus working knowledge of business and financial principles and assesses your understanding of hazard analysis, accident investigation, safety audits, workers comp, product safety, environmental laws, labor relations, and more. CSHM requires 60% passing score.

6 Steps to Exam Preparation

  1. Meet eligibility requirements.
  2. Review sample questions or use Free Online Exam Prep.
  3. Review recommended reading.
  4. Enroll in a prep exam workshop or class.
  5. Participate in free Mentoring Program, provided by ISHM.
  6. Find an exam location.
  • In the United States
  • All other countries: Contact ISHM for technical requirements to setup online proctoring.


Recommended Reading for CSHM

  1. Industrial HygieneFundamentals of Industrial Hygiene, Barbara A. Plog, Patricia J. Quinlan, NSC Publication.
  2. Ergonomics-Fitting the Task to the Human, Kroemer, k.H.E.: and Grandjean, E.
  3. Safety Engineering-Safety and Health for Engineers, Roger L. Brauer, Van Nostrand Publication.
  4. Safety and Accident Prevention-Occupational Safety & Health for Technologists.
  5. Business Management-Understanding Business, 10th Edition, Nickels, McHugh, NcHugh
  6. Training-The Trainer’s Handbook, Lawson
  7. Emergency Management-Introduction to Emergency Management, Haddow, G.D.; Bullock, J.A. and Coppola, D.P.
  8. Motor Fleet Safety-Motor Fleet Safety Manual,John E. Brodbeck, NSC Publication.
  9. Risk Management- Fundamentals of Risk Management: Understanding, Evaluating & Implementing Effective Risk Management, Hopkin
  10. Human Resource Management-Human Resource Essentials, Grensing-Prophal
  11. Management Systems-Integrated Management Systems:  Leading Strategies and Solutions, Pardy, W., & Andrews, T.
  12. Environmental Management-Principles of Environmental Science Inquiry and Applications, Cunningham, W.P. & Cunningham, M.A.
  13. Safety Management-Safety Management: A Human Approach, Petersen, 3rd Edition


CSMP and CSHM certifications must be renewed every five years to remain active. Members must provide written evidence of continued professional qualifications by submitting a Continuance of Certification (COC) worksheet or by completing the appropriate examination.

Basic COC Requirements

  • CSHM & CSSM – 30 COC points must be accumulated over 5 years.
  • CSMP & CSSS – 20 COC points must be accumulated over 5 years.
  • The COC Cycle begins on January 1st of the year that the candidate passed the certification exam. The COC Cycle ends on December 30th of the 5th year following the start of the cycle.
  • For the purpose of calculating COC points 1 CEU = 1 COC Point.

Categories for earning COC Points

  1. Active Safety and Health Management Practice
  2. Membership and Professional
  3. Publication of papers
  4. Attendance at Meetings, Conferences, Educational Programs
  5. Teaching safety or safety management
  6. ISHM exam or other ISHM recognized certifications
  7. Other

Frequently Asked Questions

  • When are COC worksheets due?
  • Where are COC worksheets to be sent?
  • What are the COC areas included in the minimum point requirement in Category 4, “Attendance at Meetings, Conferences and Educational Programs”?
  • How can I tell if a conference or course is acceptable?
  • How can CSHMs and CSMPs accrue COC points with restricted travel budgets?
  • What happens if a COC worksheet is audited?
  • What happens to CSHMs and CSMPs who fail to maintain certification?
  • Can CSHMs and CSMPs become re-certified if they lose their certification?

Write Test Questions for COC Points

Well written questions are necessary for a valid examination. Valid questions target the functions, tasks, knowledge, and skills that professionals actually demonstrate in practice. That’s why the Institute for Safety and Health Management (ISHM) depends on current certified professionals to submit questions for examinations leading to ISHM credentials.


In exchange for your expertise, ISHM will award COC Points. Find out how.


Sign up to take our annual quiz’s for COC points. 

0.2 COC points for 10 question EHS quizzes. The passing score must be at least 70% and a certificate must be offered upon successful completion.

There is a password to access the site so please contact the ISHM office for your quiz payment to access the quiz’s to earn toward you COC points.

Go to Quiz Page >>

Get Our Newsletter in Your Inbox SUBSCRIBE
+ +